30th AMM October, 2002

U. S. Army Warrant Officers Association

Annual Meeting of the Members 2002

30th Annual Meeting of the Members 22 – 24 October 2002

The 2002 Annual Meeting of the Members kicked off on the evening of October 22, 2002 with a Presidents Reception at the Embassy Suites Hotel, San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The AMM Business Session was convened in the morning of October 23rd. Approximately 150 Members were registered for the Annual Meeting.


(Pictured – Attendees recite Pledge of Allegiance at Opening)

 Focus Groups met on October 23rd and 24th to discuss topics of interest to USAWOA and the Corps.


A wreath was placed on the grave of a Korean War Soldier at a nearby veterans’ cemetery on the afternoon of October 23rd by the USAWOA Officers. This very meaningful ceremony continues the USAWOA tradition of commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Korean War.  (Pictured on the right – Bob Scott, Committee Chair and Frank Meeks, National President lay the wreath at the Korean War Veteran’s grave stone)

2002 National Election results were announced on October 24th (total ballots cast 3664):

2002AMM_Oaths_New_Natl_OffNational President – CW5 Frank Meeks
National Vice President – CW4 (Ret) Roy Valiant
National Secretary – CW4 Gary Nisker
Northeast Region Director – CW3 John Robinson
Southeast Region Director – CW3 (Ret) Gene Perrino
Mid-North Region Director – CW5 Howard Lundin
Mid-South Region Director – CW5 (Ret) Joe Diaz
Western Region Director – CW3 (P) Farrell Chiles

(Pictured above – BG Marquez installs National Officers at Banquet) (Note –  in the center of the picture is CW5 Phil Tackett, who was elected as the European Region President in June 2002 and thus is also a Region Director)

A Warrant Officer Professional Development Day was conducted on October 25. Topics presented by guest speakers included USAWOA and the Legislative Process by CW5 (Ret) Ray Bell, USAWOA Executive Director; Army Transformation and the Warrant Officers Role by CW5 Dan Logan, Warrant Officer Advisor to the Army Chief of Staff; The ATLDP Study .. What Now? by  CW5 John Sparkman, Chair ATLDP-WO Study; Total Force Warrant Officer Recruiting by CW3 Troy Davis, Army Recruiting Command; Warrant Officer Promotion Boards by CW5 Walt Edwards, CW5 Sharon Swartworth and CW5 Willie Dickens. A summary of their briefings will be posted in the near future.

Brigadier General Francisco A. Marquez, Adjutant General of Puerto Rico was the guest speaker and administered the oath of office to the National Officers at the Awards Banquet on October 25th.

The National Awards Committee convened during the period of 1 – 15 October 2002 to consider awards for the period of 1 July 2001 to 30 June 2002. The Awards Committee reviewed the individual chapter minutes, nominations and reports provided by the National Headquarters. The following Annual Awards were presented at the Awards Banquet on October 25, 2002:

Albert Holcombe Memorial Warrant Officer of the Year



CW3 Judy Wiechert, Greater Atlanta Chapter, Atlanta, GA (left) (See Acceptance Comments)


Virginia Holcombe Memorial Award for National Spouse of the Year Mrs. Paula Tackett, Heidelberg Chapter, Heidelberg, Germany (right) (See Acceptance Comments)

(Both pictured with CW5 Frank Meeks, National President (left) & CW4 (P) Jim White, outgoing National Vice President (right))

Best Chapter Retention Award

High Plains Chapter,  Denver, Colorado

Best Chapter Recruiting Award

Bayern-Jura Chapter, Hohenfels, Germany

Highest Chapter Recruiting Award

Arlington Hall Minuteman Chapter, Arlington, Virginia

Overall Best Chapter for Recruiting and Retention

Southern California Chapter, Los Angeles, California

Overall Best Region for Recruiting and Retention

Western Region

Best Chapter Professional Development Program

Arizona Silver Chapter, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Community Affairs Award for Chapter Donations

Great Salt Lake Chapter, Salt Lake City, Utah

Community Affairs Award for Chapter Services

South of the Alps Chapter, Vicenza, Italy

Community Affairs Award for Chapter Sustaining Programs

South of the Alps Chapter, Vicenza, Italy

Best Chapter Web Site

Nord-Bayern Silver Chapter, Bamberg, Germany

Chapter Longevity Award Streamers

Fort Bragg Silver Chapter, Fort Bragg, NC – 30 Years Fort Hood Silver Chapter, Fort Hood, TX – 30 Years Arizona Silver Chapter, Sierra Vista, AZ – 20 Years Mid-America Chapter, Fort Riley, KS – 20 Years

St. Louis Gateway Chapter, St. Louis, MI – 20 Years Marne Chapter, Fort Stewart, GA – 20 Years Greater Atlanta Chapter, Atlanta, GA – 20 Years Northwest Chapter Fort Lewis, WA – 15 Years

Fort McCoy Chapter, Sparta, WI – 10 Years

Keystone Chapter, Fort Indiantown Gap/Annville, PA – 10 Years

Statue of Liberty Chapter, Greater NYC, NY – 10 Years

Don Hess President’s Award (selected and announced by President Meeks)

CW4 (Ret) John Allnatt (Posthumously)

Outstanding Warrant Officer Recruiters (announced by Vice President White)

CW4 Jose Hernandez, Coqui Chapter, San Juan – $100 Savings Bond

CW4 (Ret) Harry Wilson, Southern California Chapter, Los Angeles  -$100 Bond

CW5 Peter Lautzenheizer, Ansbach Chapter, Ansbach Germany – Runner Up

Winner of the $100 Pentagon Federal Credit Door Prize at the Awards Banquet on October 25th was CW3 Tamara Blakeley , President Arizona Silver Chapter.

Annual Scholarship Funds Raiser – You have raised $18,785 towards this worthy endeavor. We thank you one and all for your support of our Family Member Scholarship Program! Winners of the final drawing held on October 25th were –

Grand Prize $1,000 CW2 (Ret) William V. Dufrin, Northwest Chapter Second-Place $500 CW4 (Ret) Harry McCurdy, Fort Dix Doughboy Chapter Third-Place $250 CW5 (Ret) John Zimmerman, Crater Chapter

The Early Bird Winner was drawn on September 20th. A check for $250.00 was mailed to CW4 (Ret) Douglas F. Carlberg of the Lone Star Chapter, San Antonio, TX.

USAWOA gratefully acknowledges the financial assistance of the Pentagon Federal Credit Union in sponsoring the Refreshments during the AMM business sessions and Professional Development Day plus providing a $100.00 travelers check as a door prize at the Annual Awards Banquet. Thanks also to CW4 (Ret) Bob Scott, member of the Web Committee, who acted as Webmaster Forward, for gathering and reporting onsite information for this page.

All pictures are by Ray Bell, USAWOA Executive Director, unless otherwise noted.

USAWOA Online 3/7/2013